Although many music aficionados will undoubtedly know Parliament as a funk band, the group was originally referred to as The Parliaments. Based out of Plainfield, New Jersey, The Parliaments were known for having a doo-wop sound, but eventually became synonymous with funk over the years. The group was first comprised of George Clinton, Ray Davis, Fuzzy Haskins, Calvin Simon, and Grady Thomas. In 1970, the group released the album called Osmium on the Invictus label, followed by Up for the Down Stroke on Casablanca in 1974. Parliament is well-known for their albums such as Chocolate City and Mothership Connection, which were both released back in 1975. A year later, Parliament released The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein, and then Funkentelechy Vs. the Placebo Syndrome in 1977. Motor Booty Affair was released shortly after, and then Gloryhallastoopid was dropped in 1979. The last album, Trombipulation, was released in December of 1980. Since then, Parliament has released several compilation albums over the years. With hit singles like "Tear The Roof Off The Sucker (Give Up The Funk)", "Flash Light", "Up For The Down Stroke" and "Aqua Boogie (A Psychoalphadiscobetabioaquadoloop)", Parliament is highly respected for their bold sound and creative inspiration for modern artists today.

Parliament T-Shirts